CHOREOGRAPHY • On the capacities of human imagination •
CPH. DENMARK • 24th-30th OF SEP, 2018

ALITY comes from an enduring question about the possibilities of subversion/utopia. We choose to work in the realm of possibles from which concrete instances come into being. The piece is an experiment in indeterminacy, thin images that appear unbidden and glide between the lines of common readability offering spaces for the imagination to exercise.

The bodies are on par with the space as a material available for negotiation. The possibility is for all present elements to offer their energetic subtexts. The performers do not compose, they practice, and in the eschewal of a rationalist determination, new longed for sensations and spaces appear. There is no fiction, no predefined images. Not unlike the experience of staring into the tarot or a kaleidoscope, ALITY is a space of spaces that unfolds the more it is attended to. At Charlottenborg we offer a version of ALITY which is particular to the given space and the bodies present.

12th-13th of Oct. SIDance Festival, Seoul. KR
3rd of Nov. Power of Women Festival, Cph. DK
15th of Mar. Det Frie Felts Festival, Cph. DK
24th-30th of Sep. Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Cph. DK
16th-17th of Feb. UniArts, Helsinki FI


Concept, choreography & staging: Jonathan Bonnici, Marie-Louise Stentebjerg, Ida-Elisabeth Larsen
Performers: Jonathan Bonnici, Marie-Louise Stentebjerg, Ida-Elisabeth Larsen, Yu Jin Kim
Guest performer, 2018: Emilia Gasiorek
Sound: S. Rieser
Space, textile & costume: Lea Paulsen
Graphic design: Sam Moore
Choreographic assistant: Amalie Bergstein Nielsen
Voice consultant: Emma Bonnici
Channeling consultant: Sunniva Høgsberg
Light consultant: Jesper Møller
Administration: Projektcentret

In residency: Laboratoriescenen v. Dansehallerne, Dansearena Nord, PACT Zollverein
Co-production: Dansehallerne, Kunsthal Charlottenborg,  Theatre Academy - University of the Arts Helsinki
Support: The Danish Arts Foundation, Knud Højgaards Fond, Beckettfonden, Oticon Fonden, Københavns Kommunes Scenekunstudvalg, Carcel

Thank you: Simo Kellokumpu, Tuija Kokkonen, Anders Paulin, Paula Caspao, Alaknanda Samarth, Nina Numminen, Pia Stentebjerg